Kissimmee Open and Volusia County Open

I am only two events deep into 2012 and have already learned a ton. I teed it up for the first time in over five months at the Kissimmee Open January 14th and 15th. With rounds of 70 and 72, I finished 19th in a field of 133 players. Conditions were cold (Low’s in the 30’s) and windy (gusts up to 25mph) and required great patience to maneuver the golf ball around the course. My ball striking was not at its best entering the event and didn’t show up during it either. Hitting only 20 GIR (Greens in Regulation) over the 36 holes, I relied on my short game and ability to compete in the present to finish under par and earn a pay check. Overall, It felt great to be playing tournament golf again!

2012 Volusia County Open

The second event of the year brought me to New Smyrna Beach, FL to compete in the  Volusia County Open. I recorded rounds of 72 and 78 to finish T75th in a field of 96 players.  Obviously a poor finish, and below average scoring, but a great learning experience none the less. After shooting even par in round one, I was sitting around 40th place and three shots outside of the money. Course conditions were perfect; no wind, sunny skies, and great greens resulting in very low scores from the majority of the field. Knowing this, I mentally entered round two anxious to make birdies, focused on the result, and way ahead of myself in every aspect. After bogeying the par 5 opening hole, I followed it with a double bogey on number two. I pressed harder to make something happen on holes three and four and the result was poor decision making and sloppy mistakes. What I learned from this event is this: For me, it is key that i stick to my process (clear targets, clear shots, educated decesions, acceptance) and play in the present. When I do this, I not only shoot my best scores, but I also get the most enjoyment out of the game. This isn’t the first time and probably wont be the last time that I put the result ahead of the process, but thats okay, because I believe reminders like this help to strengthen me as a player in the long run.

 

EXCITING NEWS! In the next couple of days I will be partnering with a new sponsor, receiving some assistance with new apparel, and possibly taking on a new job that will greatly help fund my pursuit of the PGA Tour. More details to come!

 

One comment

  1. These are valuable lessons that you knew already but seem to have been reinforced by this experience. In golf, as nutty as this sounds, it is possible to try too hard. What you learned during this event may prove more valuable than a check you may have earned.

Leave a Reply

